Beware Online Reviews - WSVN-TV - 7NEWS Miami Ft. Lauderdale News, Weather, Deco

Beware Online Reviews

Posted: Updated:

Online reviews are more crucial than ever for businesses these days. But as Lynn Martinez explains, you need to be careful how much trust you put in to some of those reviews in tonight's Money Monday.

WSVN -- Before you head out to a new restaurant or store most of us go online to check the reviews.

Rebekah Demordo: "I'm trying to think of when I don't use them. I pretty much use them all the time."

Jonathan Sanchez's restaurant, TiraDToss, has only been open for about two years so he and his crew rely a lot on good reviews to keep money coming through the door.

Jonathan Sanchez: "It definitely helps. They find us through Google, through Yelp, through Foursquare, through many other social medias."

But sometimes those reviews aren't so good.

Jonathan Sanchez: "You can't always please everybody."

But before you write those businesses off because of negative reviews, you should look deeper.

Jonathan Sanchez: "Myself, I try to read the reviews that make sense. 'Oh my God the manager looked at me bad.' No, the reviews that make sense, try to look at those."

Be aware of reviews that may be planted by the businesses themselves or even paid for.

Rebekah Demordo: "If there is a good number of reviews and you see the language that they use, you can realize that it's from a trustworthy source."

Bottom line, customers say you can tell when the reviews are legitimate and should trust your instincts.

Rebekah Demordo: "Genuine good service, genuine good products. They speak for themselves."

A lot of online review sites these days are also flagging businesses that may have paid for reviews. So look out for those alerts when you're searching those sites.

For More Information:

http://www.tiradtoss.com/

  • Help Me HowardMore>>

  • Don't Sign For Car

    Don't Sign For Car

    Wednesday, July 30 2014 11:07 PM EDT2014-07-31 03:07:22 GMT
    It sounds OK. You sign the paperwork so someone else can get a car after they promise to make the payments. What can go wrong? They stop paying, and now guess who is in hot water? It's why one good hearted woman called Help Me Howard with Patrick Fraser.
    It sounds OK. You sign the paperwork so someone else can get a car after they promise to make the payments. What can go wrong? They stop paying, and now guess who is in hot water? It's why one good hearted woman called Help Me Howard with Patrick Fraser.
  • Can't Help Kids Learn to Swim

    Can't Help Kids Learn to Swim

    Monday, July 28 2014 11:37 PM EDT2014-07-29 03:37:03 GMT
    It's part of being a parent: teaching your kids to ride a bike, to play sports, to swim. But how would you feel if you were told, "Stop teaching your child to swim?" When it happened to one South Florida father, he was stunned, and turned to Help Me Howard with Patrick Fraser for some answers.
    It's part of being a parent: teaching your kids to ride a bike, to play sports, to swim. But how would you feel if you were told, "Stop teaching your child to swim?" When it happened to one South Florida father, he was stunned, and turned to Help Me Howard with Patrick Fraser for some answers.
  • Found Savings Bonds, Can't Find Owner

    Found Savings Bonds, Can't Find Owner

    Wednesday, July 23 2014 10:57 PM EDT2014-07-24 02:57:35 GMT
    It's what some people dream about: finding an envelope filled with money. One South Florida woman did find it in a parking lot, but she wasn't dreaming of riches. She was determined to find the owner. She couldn't, so she called Help Me Howard with Patrick Fraser.
    It's what some people dream about: finding an envelope filled with money. One South Florida woman did find it in a parking lot, but she wasn't dreaming of riches. She was determined to find the owner. She couldn't, so she called Help Me Howard with Patrick Fraser.
  • Carmel on the CaseMore>>

  • South Florida Doctor Sued

    South Florida Doctor Sued

    Wednesday, July 30 2014 12:56 PM EDT2014-07-30 16:56:31 GMT
    7News has learned a South Florida doctor who is already being sued for inappropriately touching a patient, is now being investigated by police for the same allegation. Investigative reporter Carmel Cafiero is on the case with a 7News exclusive.
    7News has learned a South Florida doctor who is already being sued for inappropriately touching a patient, is now being investigated by police for the same allegation. Investigative reporter Carmel Cafiero is on the case with a 7News exclusive.
  • BADge Behavior: Miami-Dade Police officer cuts a deal after being accused of stealing gas from the county

    BADge Behavior: Miami-Dade Police officer cuts a deal after being accused of stealing gas from the county

    Wednesday, July 23 2014 12:15 AM EDT2014-07-23 04:15:18 GMT
    Former Miami-Dade Police Officer Rose StabioFormer Miami-Dade Police Officer Rose Stabio
    WSVN -- There is one less police officer in South Florida tonight. She has resigned in disgrace after being caught stealing gas. Investigative reporter Carmel Cafiero is On the Case.
    WSVN -- There is one less police officer in South Florida tonight. She has resigned in disgrace after being caught stealing gas. Investigative reporter Carmel Cafiero is On the Case.
  • Former State Corrections Officer Cleared in Shooting Death Outside Bar

    Former State Corrections Officer Cleared in Shooting Death Outside Bar

    Tuesday, July 8 2014 10:34 PM EDT2014-07-09 02:34:21 GMT
    Tonight there's a decision on whether to charge a former state corrections officer who shot and killed a man outside of a bar. Was it murder, manslaughter, or self defense? Investigative reporter Carmel Cafiero broke the story and is back On the Case.
    Tonight there's a decision on whether to charge a former state corrections officer who shot and killed a man outside of a bar. Was it murder, manslaughter, or self defense? Investigative reporter Carmel Cafiero broke the story and is back On the Case.
  • Medical ReportsMore>>

  • Medicine Names

    Medicine Names

    Friday, July 25 2014 6:06 PM EDT2014-07-25 22:06:42 GMT
    WSVN -- Ever wondered how a drug gets its name? Some of the biggest pharmaceutical drugs in the world are named in Downtown Miami.
    WSVN -- Ever wondered how a drug gets its name? Some of the biggest pharmaceutical drugs in the world are named in Downtown Miami.
  • Tiny Tools

    Tiny Tools

    Friday, July 18 2014 5:51 PM EDT2014-07-18 21:51:25 GMT
    Doctors know operating on children is different than on adults. Now thanks to some tiny tools, life-saving surgeries can be done on even the smallest patients. 7's Diana Diaz shows us.
    Doctors know operating on children is different than on adults. Now thanks to some tiny tools, life-saving surgeries can be done on even the smallest patients. 7's Diana Diaz shows us.
  • Erase The Ink

    Erase The Ink

    Friday, July 11 2014 5:37 PM EDT2014-07-11 21:37:24 GMT
    Removing a tattoo isn't always quick and easy, but a new laser treatment is promising results with fewer treatments. 7's Diana Diaz shows us a breakthrough way to erase the ink.
    Removing a tattoo isn't always quick and easy, but a new laser treatment is promising results with fewer treatments. 7's Diana Diaz shows us a breakthrough way to erase the ink.
  • Money MondaysMore>>

  • Back To School

    Back To School

    Monday, July 28 2014 5:35 PM EDT2014-07-28 21:35:39 GMT
    Getting your kids ready to go back to school can be expensive. Lynn Martinez talks to the experts to help you save some dough while school shopping.
    Getting your kids ready to go back to school can be expensive. Lynn Martinez talks to the experts to help you save some dough while school shopping.
  • Pet Medical Costs

    Pet Medical Costs

    Monday, July 21 2014 5:52 PM EDT2014-07-21 21:52:54 GMT
    Many of us have pets in our homes, but most of us don't know that everyday items in our houses can be hazardous to them. In tonight's Money Monday, we show you some of the biggest hazards to your pet and your wallet.
    Many of us have pets in our homes, but most of us don't know that everyday items in our houses can be hazardous to them. In tonight's Money Monday, we show you some of the biggest hazards to your pet and your wallet.
  • Student Loan Debt

    Student Loan Debt

    Monday, July 14 2014 5:38 PM EDT2014-07-14 21:38:03 GMT
    The excitement of college graduation has come and gone for many students facing repaying student loans. In tonight's Money Monday, we have some pointers to get that student loan debt in check.
    The excitement of college graduation has come and gone for many students facing repaying student loans. In tonight's Money Monday, we have some pointers to get that student loan debt in check.
Powered by WorldNow

WSVN-TV
Sunbeam Television Corp
1401 79th Street Causeway
Miami, FL 33141

Switchboard: (305) 751-6692
Newsroom: (305) 795-2777

Can't find something?
Connect with us here:
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WSVN. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.